1) Benefit your child!     
Research shows that children perform better when parents are involved both at home and at school.
2) Get connected!
There's no better way to know what's happening at school.
3) Be a role model!
By becoming a PTSA member, you'll be demonstrating to your child the importance you place on education.
4) Tap into a network!
PTSA connects you to other parents and teachers through meetings, events and communications, helping to build a sense of community.
5) Witness improvement!
By getting involved in PTSA you'll be part of the solution -- helping to make positive changes to your child's educational environment.
You DON'T have to volunteer. 
You DON'T have to come to meetings. 
All you have to do is care about your kids and making their middle school years the best they can be! 
Join online at www.ckmsptsa.org or email chiefkanimptsa@gmail.com to request a paper membership form be sent to you. 



The Reflections Program is a PTA-sponsored competition providing students an opportunity to use their artistic talents to create original works that will be judged on a local, regional, state and national level. Students may submit in 6 categories: Visual Art, Photography, Dance Choreography, Literature, Music, and Film. This year's theme is "Look Within." Entries are due to the art room or the office no later than DECEMBER 6.  Click here for the entry forms and more detailed information.



Nov. 22-26

Parent/Teacher Conferences -- Early Dismissal (11:08am)

Wednesday, Nov. 27 

Early Dismissal (11:08am)

Nov. 28-29

Thanksgiving Break (NO SCHOOL)

Friday, Dec. 6

Reflections Entries Due

Saturday, Dec. 7

Fall City Holiday Market @CKMS (Music Boosters Poinsettia Pickup)

 Dec. 23-Jan. 3

Winter Break (NO SCHOOL)

Monday, Jan. 6

Classes Resume

Monday, Jan. 20

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (NO SCHOOL)

Monday, Jan. 27 

Professional Development Day (NO SCHOOL)


Developmental Disabilities Assistance
Does your child have an intellectual or developmental disability such as autism, cerebral palsy, Down syndrome, or a similar condition?  Sheila Collins from the Developmental Disabilities Administration of the Washington State Department of Social and Health Services will provide an overview of the DDA's eligibility requirements and an explanation of services available through DDA, such as respite, personal care, assistive technology, and community engagement. Application packets will be available so that anyone interested in applying to become a DDA client can do so on the spot. If your child experiences substantial limitations in one or more of the following areas: physical ... read full article

Suicide Prevention Training
Suicide Prevention Training for parents will be offered on Tuesday, December 3, from 7- 8:30 p.m. in the Mount Si High School library (above the main office). Developed by Forefront Suicide Prevention at the University of Washington, parents will learn the five effective LEARN® steps that empower individuals to help others. Learn how to recognize when friends or family might be having thoughts of suicide, know how to respond, and where to refer individuals to keep them safe.  ... read full article

View all
AVID Speakers
AVID Classes are looking for parent speakers to come to their class to talk about their jobs and pathways getting there! If you are interested please contact the office or email CKMS AVID site coordinator Lori Ebbers at ebbersla@svsd410.org. ... read full article

Tutors Needed!
CKMS is looking for parents who would be willing to tutor students in math during 7th period, from 2:14-2:44 pm, ideally twice a week. They especially need help for Common Core 8 students but would take volunteers in any grade levels. In addition, the AVID program is in need of tutors twice a week at CKMS during periods 5 and 6. There is training provided, but volunteers are expected to establish and maintain rapport with students while tutoring in small study groups or individually, assisting students in all subject areas based on the class and text notes they have collected ... read full article

View all
Nov 10
Veterans' Day (NO SCHOOL)
Veterans' Day (NO SCHOOL)

Monday, November 11
9:00a CKMS PTSA Executive Board Meeting
CKMS PTSA Executive Board Meeting

Tuesday, November 12
9:00a - 10:00a
7:00p DDA Service Assistance
DDA Service Assistance

Thursday, November 14
7:00p - 8:30p
Snoqualmie Elementary School

Parents of children with an intellectual or developmental disability such as autism, cerebral palsy or Down syndrome can get overview of eligibility requirements and services available such as respite, personal care, assistive technology, and community engagement. Application packets will be available.
Parent/Teacher Conferences
Parent/Teacher Conferences

Fri 11/22 - Tue 11/26
11:08a Early Release
Early Release

Friday, November 22
View in Outlook or Google Calendar      See full calendar